The Hackr

How to Securely Wipe Sensitive Data From Your Computer

Hi Guys!!    Today , I am here to tell u the best way to securely wipe sensitive data from your computer.

Simply deleting a file doesn’t completely remove the file or data from the memory, and it can be recovered very easily using various data recovery software. Secure wiping is the only possible way to delete files permanently from your harddrive.

Deleting or formatting data is not enough. You have to do a clean wipe or secure wipe to get rid of all that data.

When you delete a file or a folder., the operating system just marks the sectors containing the data as “unused”, this makes the file unavailable to access.

However, the deleted file isn’t really wiped until that same space is overwritten by something else. Furthermore, when it is overwritten, there are ways to retrieve data.

If you want to delete files permanently on your computer, just follow these steps:

1.      First, download and install Eraser on your computer. ( Click Here To Download Eraser)

2.     Now open the Eraser application, you will find a window.

3.     Select the “Settings” and then change the option “Default file erasure method” to “Pseudorandom Data (1 pass)“.

 WHY NOT DEFAULT FILE ERASURE METHOD

The default erase method here is “Gutmann (35 passes)“. It is no longer useful, because most of the patterns in Gutmann method  are designed for older RLL/MFM encoded disks. And also writing an existing data with a series of 35 patterns is not needed to make the data unrecoverable, just a single pass with random data can do the job.

MFM / RLL :

    Modified Frequency Modulation, commonly MFM, is a run-length limited (RLL) coding scheme used to encode the actual  data-bits on most floppy disks. It was first introduced in disk drives with the IBM 3330 hard disk drive in 1970.

4.     Save the settings and then close the application.

5.     Now right click on the file(s) you want to erase, and then choose Eraser > Erase.

6.     You can see an alert window pop up, select “Yes” -the deletion process will now start. If you want to see the progress, just click on the Eraser tray icon.

 

 

 

Abhilash

It was a hobby I got into a long time ago, hacking cameras. And I am here making posts @TheHackr today!

up